Geraint Davies MP

Working hard for Swansea - yn gweithio dros Abertawe

About Swansea

Swansea is Wales’s second largest city, with a population of nearly 250,000. Parliamentary constituencies in this area are Swansea West, Swansea East and Gower. The Swansea West constituency includes the areas; Sketty, Killay North, Killay South, Dunvant, Mayals, Castle, Cockett, Townhill and Uplands.


The late Alan Williams was the MP for Swansea West from 1964 until his retirement in 2010, when he also left his title of Father of the House, a title earned by being the longest sitting MP in the Commons. His successor, Geraint Davies, won the seat by 504 votes in 2010, and was re-elected to represent the 63,000 constituents in 2015, increasing his majority to over 7,000.


Swansea West has a large student population, due to the two universities; Swansea and Trinity Saint David. The constituency has been in existence since 1885, but only named Swansea West since 1919. Percy Morris was the first Labour MP for Swansea West, being elected in 1945. The Swansea West Assembly seat has existed since 1999 and is currently held by Labour’s Julie James. There is a diverse population, through urban areas and countryside, with around 13% of the population being Welsh speakers.


Along with the Premiership football club to boast of, Swansea is home to and has raised many notable people such as Dylan Thomas, Catherine Zeta Jones, Sir Clive Granger, Harry Secombe, Ian Hislop, Rowan Williams, the Archbishop of Canterbury and Shane Williams.


Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

The Labour Party will place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.